What are the two sets of fused vertebrae at the base of the spine?

What two fused structures are found at the base of the spine?

The bottom of the spine is called the sacrum. It is made up of several vertebral bodies usually fused together as one. The remaining small bones or ossicles below the sacrum are also fused together and called the tailbone or coccyx.

What are the 2 types of vertebrae that are fused?

The vertebrae of the sacrum and coccyx are fused, but those of the cervical, thoracic and lumbar regions are separated by intervertebral discs.

What are the fused vertebrae at the bottom of the spinal column called?

The entire spinal column consists of 24 individual bones called vertebrae (singular vertebra), plus 2 sections of naturally fused vertebrae—the sacrum and the coccyx—located at the very bottom of the spine.

What bones of the spine are typically fused?

The spinal column is a composed of 33 spine bones (vertebrae), with the lower 9 vertebrae being fused (grown together) called the sacrum and coccyx.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Can spinal problems affect the bowel?

What part of your spine controls your legs?

The nerves of the cervical spine go to the upper chest and arms. The nerves in your thoracic spine go to your chest and abdomen. The nerves of the lumbar spine then reach to your legs, bowel, and bladder. These nerves coordinate and control all the body’s organs and parts, and let you control your muscles.

What are the 5 areas of the spine?

The spine is composed of 33 bones, called vertebrae, divided into five sections: the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine sections, and the sacrum and coccyx bones. The cervical section of the spine is made up of the top seven vertebrae in the spine, C1 to C7, and is connected to the base of the skull.

What is the most common lumbar fusion?

The most common levels in the spine requiring treatment are L4-5 and L5-S1 fusion. Many patients requiring lumbar fusion surgery also have pinched nerves from herniated discs or spinal stenosis. As a result, the surgery is often performed in conjunction with microlumbar discectomy or lumbar laminectomy.

What part of the spine controls the heart?

Thoracic (mid back) – the main function of the thoracic spine is to hold the rib cage and protect the heart and lungs. The twelve thoracic vertebrae are numbered T1 to T12.

What is the difference between lumbar and cervical spine?

A cervical disc is an intervertebral disc in your cervical spine (neck) and the lumbar disc is the intervertebral disc in your lumbar region (lower back).

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Will my legs be the same length after hip replacement?

What are the levels of the spine?

There are four sections of the spinal cord: cervical, thoracic, lumbar and sacral. Each section of the spine protects different groups of nerves that control the body.